Starting Over

I’ve said the words, but they’re not really sinking in yet.

I am getting a divorce.

This has been really hard for me to wrap my head around. We’ve been together for 7 years, and I really did sign on for forever. But it got to the point that the ONLY reason I was still here was BECAUSE I signed on for forever. Was being stubborn worth being miserable? And in the end, no, it’s not.

He’s my first love, and my first real breakup. I’m not really sure how to come to terms with this. Even if I know it’s right, what do I do now? How do I heal? How do I move on from here?

I’m taking the steps towards my new life. I’ve arranged temporary housing (half with my mom, half with a friend), and I’ve accepted full time work with my RD consulting firm. In just a few short months, I should have a savings and a health insurance plan, should be able to buy a car that can handle the commute, and should be able to move out on my own.

So it seems that I’ve got it all together, right? But there’s one thing missing.

I lost 80 pounds some time ago. It was because of that that I became a dietitian. But ALL of my healthy living, ALL OF IT, was done with a husband in the picture (a positive thing in the beginning, a negative thing the last two years). And in fact, that negative influence of his in more recent times has taken a big toll on me. Despite finishing my third half marathon not long ago, I haven’t felt this out of shape and tired and fluffy in years. Obviously something has to be done.

The thing is…. I’ve never tried healthy living alone.

And that’s a big thing! And in anticipation of turning my life upside down, to moving and having a career and living like a vagabond for several months, I will really need to work hard to grasp that healthy living by the horns and make it mine.

Thus begins this Healthy Living Blog. It will cover the topics of exercise, food, cooking for one (in someone else’s kitchen!), and starting over with a NEW LIFE.

I am not a new blogger. I have been blogging for many, many years at many different sites. I will continue to maintain a personal blog at Livejournal that is locked to the public, and this blog will take the place of my running-only blog, Holly on the Run.

This is the first chapter of Healthy Living Holly: Starting Over.