I make no promises on this blog.

So here’s the thing.

I pretty much suck as a healthy living blogger.

Now, I’ve been a blogger for over 10 years. And I’m healthy, more or less. We’ll disregard this summer of too much beer and forget that chips, salsa, and broccoli comprised my dinner last night. (Picture of an RD, huh?) My bloodwork, resting heart rate, and marathon completion beg to differ. I’m healthy. Just not in the typical healthy blogger kind of way.

So what’s the problem?

1. I have no desire to make blogging my job. I do not want to blog three times a day. Or even daily. I don’t want to feel like I have to write. I don’t want to take pictures of my meals or think up exciting recipes. I don’t want to run an Open Sky store. I just don’t. Now, I get twinges of jealousy when I see what fun and awesome things that successful healthy living bloggers are getting and doing because of their blogs…but they put in the work for it. They’ve earned it.

2. I read a great post today on one of my most favorite blogs about having your own voice. (And man, does she. I like to quote her. With credit, of course.) My own voice isn’t polished and pretty and ready for public consumption. I have been blogging behind a lock and key at livejournal for over 10 years. My style there is to tell everything about myself. To record my feelings and get reactions and mistakes in life. And even as more and more people are pulling away and trying to make it big with their blogs, that’s my safe haven. I post there daily, multiple times a day. On no set schedule. Sometimes with just a text or a picture.

3. I’m not “a writer.” I’m really not. I have no desire for a book deal. I blog because it’s real, not to impress.

But yet, looking at the above couple items, I realize that I did really enjoy writing about my running. I probably identified more with the “Holly on the Run” moniker than “Healthy Living Holly.” And I’m starting to be able to run, little by little.

So what am I saying? Not really anything. I’m staying here, I’ll post randomly about running a good food and races when they start happening. But don’t ever expect it to be consistent or on a schedule. And don’t expect me to try to make it big with this thing.

Cuz really, I just suck as a healthy living blogger. Sorry I’m not sorry.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. candytocarrots
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 09:32:08

    I feel you sister. I love to blog, and have been doing it for years, but I don’t want it to consume my life. I’ll blog when I get a chance. I love to read blogs on my reader. And that’s really about it.

    I LOVE RACHEL! And she gave me a shout out on her blog with the “owning it” post. Did you see that?!?! I was so happy! I love her. And I’m grateful I’ve shared your health journey with you for so many years! ❤

    Reply

  2. krista
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 09:50:57

    Amen to this post!!!! Truth be told – I would MUCH rather read blogs about “real” living (showing the ups *and* the downs) than so many of the “fame-turned” blogs that make healthy living appear as pretty much unattainable for the general population. I mean, really, how many people don’t hold full-time jobs and have the ability to workout at any time of day or make daily trips to the farmer’s market?!? I certainly can’t relate to that. And I really don’t care about who got a sponsorship to attend a conference. I’m on the search for more blogs about REAL healthy living. I feel like my google reader somehow became a list of blogs full of advertising…and I’m slowly deleting some of those subscriptions. I want to read blogs I can relate to…that means working full-time, having days where I feel exhausted or eat crap…as well as days when I exercise, eat well, and feel on-top-of-the-world. So your no promises approach is fine by me…because I have no interest in buying anything from Open Sky anyway. 🙂

    Reply

  3. kilax
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 22:52:59

    My style is much like yours. I do what I want… I am not searching for fame, just a space to express myself and make some new friends!

    Love hearing that you are running 🙂

    Reply

  4. Rachel Wilkerson
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:58:00

    Heyyy! Thanks for the shout-out!! I am glad I found your blog and to see that you’re owning it!

    Over the past few months, I’ve realized that I’m a blogger who is healthy. “Healthy living blogger” has become associated with so many negative things (sponsorship, book deals, entitlement, etc.) You can be a good blogger, a blogger who runs, a blogger who loves good food, and yet still not come across as so damn obnoxious.

    This post made me realize that I hope I suck at the typical “healthy living blogger” stereotype too!

    Reply

  5. Holly @ Self-love and Running
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 07:32:54

    I think it’s best to do what is right for you.

    I write my blog because I enjoy writing, sharing about running (both as a “Yay! Look what I did!” type of thing but also as a means to learn more about it) and sharing photos. Do I take a picture of what I eat every day? No. I rarely do actually. But then, sometimes I do. Sometimes I share pictures of my dogs or the hubby. And blogging is also a means to explore myself deeper and to share that with anyone who should care to read it because maybe it will cause them to learn something new about themselves as well.

    Reply

  6. couchpotatoathlete
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 11:00:37

    Hi Holly I am also Holly 🙂

    You don’t need to fit in a cookie cutter mold of what a “healthy living blogger” should be. I like reading blogs for ideas of what to try myself, recipes, exercises, etc. It motivates me to read about runners, marathoners, triathletes, cooks, moms, wives, friends, etc. I read the blogs that I like, that are written by people who like to do it.

    I have a blog and would I like to one day have that be my job? Sure! Is that going to happen? Prob not. I have a full time job, a husband, hobbies, friends, family, etc. Blogging is not my life and thats ok! I post once per day and every once in a while I take a whole day off — thats ok too. Sure I want people to read my blog because I love the feedback and comments, but I do it for myself. And that is one thing you wrote that you need to hold onto. Do this because you want to — and write how you want to write and write about what you want to write about. I look forward to your future posts!

    Reply

  7. eatmovewrite
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 16:40:37

    I feel you girl. I’m actually a writer by profession, so I do love blogging daily, but I get that feeling like you “have” to. It’s alot of unneccessary pressure. You’re great exactly as you are!

    Reply

  8. Jess-The Semi Abnormal Gal
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 19:22:27

    Thanks for putting into words what a lot of us feel, Holly. I’m not a healthy living blogger per say, because I’m not any niched blogger. Here’s to writing to share and leaving it at that!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Meet the Owners 8/30/10
  10. discoveringdebbie
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 04:47:25

    I relate to those post in so many ways. For me, I am on my second blog – mostly because I wanted to switch to wordpress and I wanted a fresh start but I also wanted to discover who my blog personality is. I wanted the freedom to be me and not someone else. I read a lot of blogs and what I like most about the different ones is that I see the different personality shining through.
    I will definitely be back because I am running my first 1/2 marathon in February. I like the motivation of reading other’s experiences on running. Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

