So I was running… and then I wasn’t.

Often times when my blog posts go a-missing, one or more of the following are true:

1. I’m ridiculously busy (I need to get a good WordPress app for Blackberry!)

2. I’m not running

3. I’m not being healthy in any way, shape or form.

Luckily, only items #1 and #2 are true this time.

Item #1 – is a good thing. Because I’m busy being ACTIVE! I have been at the gym at 5 am several mornings a week, taken a few spin classes with my friends, hit the trails, and done a few bike rides and lake swims.

On a 21 mile ride with Nicole:

Photos from Lake Berryessa:

And… item #2.

So, I ran one mile. Then I did it again. Then I did 1.5. So far, so good. Then it was 2. Okay. Then 2.5. Umm… not okay. I could feel tightness at the end of the run, and the next two days, the shooting pain returned. Stemming from the ankle, heading up the leg.

After taking 3 weeks off before Soldier’s Field, and another FIVE WEEKS OFF, I should not be in pain running less than a 5k. Something is wrong.

The orthopedic doctor’s appointment is booked for next Friday. I will hopefully get more answers then. As for now, the pain is gone again. It only lasted a few days.

Last night, I backed off again to ONE mile. It was run as .25 mile warm up, .5 mile barefoot in the grass, .25 mile cool down home. No pain so far today. ::knock, knock:: I plan on running again on Thursday, if only to get some of the symptoms to flare up slightly for my appointment.

However, it really sucks because today was the first day of the next half marathon group training. I’m a mentor for the group, and I was planning on running with them! Alas, I was on my bike.

It’s really a shame, because THIS is how much I love running:

(Taken after the fateful 2.5 mile run)

See that glow and the look in my eyes? I want that back. Running, I’m wishing and hoping and praying. Come back to me.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 17:53:08

    You look great in that photo in your Run Happy hat. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. couchpotatoathlete
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 19:09:18

    Wow — I am Holly too! šŸ™‚

    I hope you feel better — injuries are tough physically (duh) and mentally! I love your hat!

    Reply

  3. Holly @ Self-love and Running
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 07:55:26

    Ooooh Holly… You’re not posting again! šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

