She’s back! (I hope)

Reenactment of me, yesterday and today:

Cuz I have that same waistline. Yep.

Anyways…I ran! I’m testing the waters, so to speak.

Monday I popped out on my lunch break and did my first mile since the Solider Field 10 mile race. I set the treadmill at 5.0 mph. I concentrated on relaxing, good form, and not stressing out about it. At .75 miles, I started slowly turning the speed up, ending at 6.0 mph for a final mile time of 11:40.

And it felt GOOD.

I iced it last night, stretched it out, and didn’t feel pain. So far, so good.

This morning, I did it again. I started turning the speed up around .50 mile, for an 11:23 mile.

And again, it felt GOOD.

I’m taking tomorrow off, as much as I don’t want to. I’m trying to be smart here. Thursday I will try 2 miles.

Next week – running outside. After that…the world.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 09:35:00

    That’s awesome that it felt so good! Fingers crossed it stays that way. Keep up the strength training, too. It will only help you avoid injury.

    Reply

  2. kilax
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 08:58:29

    Yay! I am so happy you are getting back in to running! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

