Back in training mode!

All last week, I kept up with my 5 am gym dates. In fact, I was sore from Tuesday’s leg workout the whole week! I can still feel those sore hamstrings!

Yesterday, I returned to hot yoga and stretched those poor hamstrings out. Today, my arms and back are sore from yoga. Ha.

Then this morning, two of my friends met up with one Mad Cow member and went up to Lake Beryessa for an open water swim. I got in a good 30 minutes of hard swimming, and some other time of just hanging out. Turns out Brian, the Mad Cow, is pretty close to my speed in the water, which of course makes me want to go faster. It also makes me contemplate this:

He was trying out two different wetsuits today, and he was in the first suit when we swam out to a far buoy and back. I was able to stay in front of him, but not byu very much. Then later, he was wearing a different wetsuit, and I could barely stay next to him. He says it was the wetsuit being a much nicer one (it was a Zoot, like in the above picture). Intriguing.

After the swim, we headed back to town, had some fuel (ok, ok, a PBJ), and headed out on a bike ride. It was 96 degrees out. Ouch. But really, on a bike it’s not SO bad except your water bottles get really hot and nasty. We did 15 miles with some hills, averaging about 12 mph. Good workout.

A brick workout! Finally back in the game!

We are training for Luna Bar Women’s Sprint Triathlon. .5 mile swim, 20 mile bike, 4 mile run. In August. Starting at 9 am. I think the heat will be the worst part!

As for running, well, we’re still on a break. I got xrays taken of my ankle and tib/fib on Thursday evening, so we’ll see if they show anything. Next I’m sure I’ll move on to an MRI and an orthopedic doctor. For now though, even though it does hurt every day, the pain is lessening. I’ve barely felt it today. So this rest is doing it good.

Back to the gym at 5 am, though. Just because my leg gets rest does not mean that I do.

It’s good to be exercising again.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kilax
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 16:52:03

    Have you ever used a wetsuit before? Do most people use them for tris?

    I am anxious to see your ankle results! Happy to hear it is feeling better, for sure šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Holly
      Jun 14, 2010 @ 18:26:23

      I have never used a wetsuit. Most of the races here are in warm enough water that they’re not required, and I’m a good enough swimmer to not need it and have been more comfortable without because I swam for years in just a swimsuit. People keep telling me they’ll make me faster, but I’m like, “but then it’ll take time to get it off!” But then seeing it in the water HOW much of a difference it made…. wow.

      I can’t wait to find out what’s up in there too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

