Yogamaniac

Tonight I took another brave soul to yoga with me, my friend Jeff. He’s a runner and in good shape, and he seemed pretty impressed by the intensity of the class. It’s really an amazing workout. You will never sweat more in your life, I swear.

I found this awesome chart that shows the routine we do in the Hatha classes:

As one of my yoga-doing running friends, Danielle, pointed out to me today, the main thing that is really good about the Hatha classes is that because they are the same pattern every time, it is really easy to see and feel how you’re improving. If you can hold a pose longer or go deeper or something. For instance, I am really working on being able to hold this one for the whole minute:

I can do it, and even hold it for a bit and get pretty deep in to it, but I still fall out of it before the first minute is up. I will conquer it!

The other type of class is the Vinyasa Flow, which is more like typical yoga classes (sun salutations, downward dog, poses of the instructor’s choosing, etc). Hatha is just like that chart. Except you repeat everything twice. In a really hot room.

It’s just… intense. But awesome. In that “I’m sometimes a bit dizzy and might pass out/puke” kind of way.

I am now so stretched out and amazing feeling. And ready for a good night’s sleep. Zzzz!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    May 19, 2010 @ 05:09:13

    Thank you for sharing this! I’ve been trying to figure out the difference between the different types of yoga. I’ve pretty much decided that Vinyasa is NOT for me. Now I’ve got to try Hatha because that looks like it’s more my style!

    Reply

  2. Katie A.
    May 19, 2010 @ 09:19:53

    That sounds like a yoga class I can enjoy. I like structure and predicitability…I will have to look for one of these! Thanks!
    And nice job!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Denial is a river in….India? « Healthy Living Holly

Leave a Reply

