New Running Group

So tonight, I started a new running group. I had chosen to live in Vacaville because of the running community, and I am finally taking full advantage of it. Sure, I was dabbling here and there and did join the Solano Stampede group, but I feel more official training with a group FOR something.

Tonight’s group is the Fiesta Half Marathon group at Vacaville Fleet Feet.

We’ll meet Thursday nights and Sunday mornings, training for a half marathon on May 23rd here in town! My friend Jaqueline joined the group as well. I am happy that in addition to Jaqueline, there are about 4 other girls that were there tonight that were around my pace, roughly. I ended up hanging with a girl named Alyssa who pushed me along. I found out that she and I have very similar half marathon PRs (mine: 2:17, hers: 2:15) but her marathon times whooped mine (perhaps because she wasn’t modeling a trash bag at mile 20?) She wants to get faster at her half, and in fact her goal is much steeper than mine: she wants to hit 2:00. I figure if I can just chase after her, my 2:11 will come. 😉

So tonight it was about 3 miles, and I struggled. I haven’t been running harder, faster, at a strong pace and holding it, for a long time. Two weekends ago, when I ran with the bloggers, I did a sub-10 first mile and then had to back it way down. I want to be able to hold 10 minute miles for longer and longer. Also, it was freakishly warm out tonight. Yay Spring, but man those 10 degrees made a difference! Anyways, this run was actually pretty tough for me and I’m almost ashamed to admit that, because I know it shows how far I’ve backslid. But here it is, the starting run for the Fiesta Half marathon:

Our running plan has 4 days per week running – easy runs Mon/Wed, speedwork as a group on Thursdays, long runs as a group on Sundays. Sometimes I will switch Monday and Tuesday, I’m thinking, so I can go to that crazy Tuesday run I like. 🙂

I can feel myself getting faster already.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jawsome
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 08:21:26

    Way to go – I’m sure running with a group training for something will help you get back in the groove!

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 09:25:05

    Definitely chase that gal with the 2:00 goal! You will get so much faster you won’t believe it. It WILL be hard work but before you know it you’ll be hanging at 10 minute miles no problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

