Green monster

Even though I’m always afraid of waking up my roommates, they have insisted they can’t hear the blender. So I’ve started making green monsters again. Not every day, but occasionally. This is just a really generic one, made with kale, almond milk, banana, and ice:

Ran the Shamrock’n Half Marathon this weekend, I did a relay with my friend Jenn. I ran the first 7.1 miles and she did the last 6. I got to see some of my friends there, like my high school buddy Chris (who broke 2 hours!), Jose, Layla and Aron (who all PR’d!).

Me, I did not feel so great. I am really struggling with this sleepiness thing, it’s manifesting itself into a lack of motivation and a kind of depression/anxiety and in general, I’m kind of a mess. I sleep all the time, do the bare minimum, and either don’t eat or eat crappy. On Saturday I didn’t eat anything until almost noon, even then I barely ate, and then in the evening I ate party foods. Not really the best way to fuel up for a race. I just felt drained and zapped for the whole run. Earlier in the year, I’d entertained thoughts of running this at a 10:00 pace, setting the state for that being my pace at a half marathon later on. I was happy that I kept it under 11:00.

Actually, looking at the splits, I ran a pretty decent race, just slower than I wanted. Without uploading the exact data, it went something like this:

Mile 1: 10:30
Mile 2: 11:00
Mile 3: 11:00
Mile 4: 11:00
Mile 5: 11:15
Mile 6: 11:00
Mile 7: 10:00 (yay bringing it home!)

I took a walk break at each mile marker, so all miles except for #1 have 45-60 seconds of walking including. I kinda liked that pattern and would consider using it in the half marathon. Although I really do want to work up to just walking at the aid stations, so like every 2.5 miles or so.

The good news is, I am seeing a doctor soon about my medical issues (the sleep/depression thing is related to my existing thyroid disorder), and I know things will be getting better. I start with a new training group this Thursday night for the Fiesta half marathon, and I really see it helping get me back on track. I’ll just keep trying to drink those green monsters and eat healthy.

Oh, and thanks for all the good vibes last week, I got the contract job and am in negotiations. This will definitely be a good thing!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindsay
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:35:08

    yum! i made a chocolate cherry bomb this morning with 2 cups of spinach. it was sooo good. i know it would wake my husband up to use the blender though, i just wait until he’s awake – fortunately he gets up before i need to leave for work.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:39:55

    My roommates rarely have anything going on before 10 am, and I commute, so I am definitely the first one up all the time!

    Reply

  3. jawsome
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 19:12:35

    That green monster looks…healthy? 🙂 Nice job on the HM relay – I keep trying to get my partner to do one with me but he’s too competitive. Hope the thyroid thing improves – depression is no joke generally, and especially makes it hard to get out and run. Which sucks, really, because running actually helps combat depression…anyway, hope you feel better soon (and congrats on that job!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

