Blogger meetup!

On Saturday, Aron organized a blogger meetup run on the Iron Horse Trail. There were eight of us who all did various mileage. Three girls went ahead much faster and did 10+ miles. Five others stuck together (well, I tried to hang with them but dropped behind since I am slower than them). Here we are at the turnaround:

That’s Aron , Layla, Me, Kerry, Maritza, plus Aron’s dogs Kylie and Emma. Aron, Layla and I did 6 miles, Kerry and Maritza went on to do 4 more while we hung out at Peet’s coffee. Then Katie and Tara joined us once they were done with their 10 miles.

They were all such nice girls and I had a blast! I can’t wait until I can hang with them at their easy pace for a little longer. Looking forward to meetup #2!

Now, let’s talk training. May is going to be a big month, there are just so many races going on! Here’s what I’ve got lined up:

May 1 – American River Parkway half marathon (in Sacramento)
May 16 – Bay to Breakers (crazy race in San Francisco, which tends to be more of a costume party than a race)
May 22 – Fiesta half marathon (in Vacaville, where I live)
May 29 – Soldier Field 10 miler, in CHICAGO, with Erin!!

So here’s where it gets tricky. I can’t race 2 half marathons plus a 10 miler in the same month. I am just not strong enough for that, and I will get hurt at this stage of the game. So basically, I need to pick an A race (and maybe even consider not doing some of them).

Enter Fleet Feet Vacaville with a training program. They’re having an intermediate training program for the Fiesta Half Marathon, and it starts next week. Long runs right here in town, where I don’t have to drive 50 minutes each way to go? YES PLEASE. As much as I love SacFit and the wonderful group that it is and seeing my friends every Saturday, that is a LOT of driving. And getting up early. SO I am slowly going to transition to the training group here, although I cna choose which to go to each weekend. SacFit is on Saturday, Fleet Feet is on Sunday. Fleet Feet also has an organized group run on Thursday night, which will keep me focused mid-week.

At this point, I have to be honest and say that I am considering not running the Parkway Half Marathon. I just don’t think I can do both without getting hurt, and if I switch training groups, I will be behind on mileage when that race pops up. I will figure out my plan closer to the event, I may use it as a training run, but I am not sure.

Bay to Breakers is still a maybe… Kitzzy is flying out here for it, so I do want to go hang out with her, but I am undecided if I will run it with her, or meet her for lunch while she’s in town. Playing that one by ear as well.

Erin and I are going to stick together on our 10 miler, so although we’d like a good, strong time, it’s not the A race for either of us. It’s our first 10 milers, so it’ll be an automatic PR anyways! It’ll probably end up being like a 10 mile training run with chip times and spectators. Woo!

Which means that Fiesta half marathon may just be my A game for the Spring season. I don’t necessarily think that I can hit my goal time of 2:11 this May (that will probably be a goal for Fall) because I have to face the music and accept that I’ve gained a few pounds and I’ve gotten slower over the winter. 😦 But I am looking forward to training for this half and working on my speed and consistency with a training group right here in my town. I think it will help me stay on target during the week.

Here’s to May Madness!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie A.
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 09:44:47

    I had a blast meeting you on Saturday!
    You sound like you have this race schedule all figured out – you’re gonna do great!
    Hope we can have another meet-up soon!

    Reply

  2. aron
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 09:54:45

    thanks for coming out this weekend!!! fun to see you again πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. jawsome
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 12:15:40

    That’s a hefty race schedule to manage! Sounds like the group runs are going to help – I too got slower this winter, and am actually starting up with a new trail group tomorrow (eeek!) I’ve never run with a group before (other than already existing friends) so I’m a little nervous. Any tips for a group newbie?

    Reply

  4. kilax
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 17:29:03

    Yay for a fun blogger run! I have never met up with that many bloggers before for running, I bet I would like it.

    Jeez, and I thought Erin had a crazy may schedule! I am happy to hear you are sticking to A game for one and the rest are just for fun. May is going to be an awesome month!

    Reply

    • Holly
      Mar 08, 2010 @ 21:23:51

      I know, it’s nutty. Still not 100% sure what I’m going to do about it. I also didn’t mention that there’s a Vacaville 5k/10k on May 1st that I could ALSO do instead of the half marathon. But then I couldn’t cheer on my friends. So… yeah.

      Definitely looking forward to meeting you in May!

      Reply

      • kilax
        Mar 09, 2010 @ 13:37:54

        I am totally looking forward to it too. I asked Erin a few weeks ago when you were coming so I could make sure I would be around πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

