Running surprise

So, as previously mentioned, my plan to get faster included running with the Tuesday night group from the Vacaville Fleet Feet. I knew they’d all be faster than me, so I was hoping for a sort of tempo run, working on running at 10:00 miles and under. I figured 3-4 miles, like the Santa Rosa Fleet Feet used to do.

Well, you know what they say about assuming. Let’s just start out by mentioning that the run was not flat. In fact, it involved Wykoff hill, a hill so infamous that when I googled it, it came up in this article about Kyle DeVan, the local boy who plays for the Colts and was in the Super Bowl this weekend, and how he uses the steep hill to train. Needless to say, the view from the top was amazing, though I was breathing too hard to really enjoy it. I also had to walk some of the middle of it. New training goal: make it up Wykoff hill without walking.

But let’s continue on to mention that it wasn’t the only hill, and those hills were nestled into a 7.26 mile run. I have never done over 5 miles on an evening run previously. What a mileage PR!

Here’s where we went, all around Vacaville:

Check out this elevation chart:

Because of the hilliness of the run and how wiped out I got, none of my splits are under 10:00 miles. The average pace ended up being 11:29. There were 4 other guys and one girl. They promised to not leave me behind, and they kept to their word. They went up ahead on that hill but waited for me at the top, and even let me walk it off a little bit and let my heart rate come down before we continued on.

Pace chart (Wykoff hill was on mile 3, obv. There was also a big hill before it, and the other large-ish hill was in mile 5):

If you can’t tell from the way I am posting about this run, I am extremely proud of myself and plan to return again and again. It’s going to make me stronger, faster, and all around a better runner. Thank you Fleet Feet runners! πŸ™‚

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jose
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 09:10:18

    hahah I love it! “Distance PR!”
    πŸ˜‰
    “Wednesday PR!” they all count right?
    Hills are your friend!
    Good to see your updates again and you are all settled in!

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 11:01:58

    I love that they waited for you! What a nice group. You will definitely get a lot out of this. Do they do the same route every time?

    Reply

    • Holly
      Feb 11, 2010 @ 18:17:38

      They started out in the fall with somewhere in the 3/4 mile range and have been adding on loops each month. So yes, it’ll be the same route and we might add on next month!

      Reply

  3. selina
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 19:39:16

    Holly! That’s awesome! I am so proud of you too!
    That sounds like so much fun! Do you think I could join you guys next week?! πŸ™‚
    Love the running group of no one leaving behind!

    Reply

  4. kilax
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 20:46:40

    Holy Hills! What an awesome mid-week run!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

