Cookie Exchange!

Yesterday I spent hours upon hours baking. And then this morning, I baked some more.

Why was I doing all this baking? Because Amy and Jose hosted a cookie exchange!

There were 15 people exchanging traditional cookies, and I think 7 more people trading vegan cookies. I made my favorite Cranberry Hootycreeks for everyone. The past two Christmases, I’ve made the beautiful cookie jars as gifts for people, and they’ve always raved about how delicious they are. So I tackled the huge task of baking 8 dozen of them myself.

You have to get a ton of baking supplies and make two batches at a time.

I have an issue with softening butter. I tend to soften it too much or not enough. Took me a few tries to get it appropriately soft, but the batches all turned out anyways.

But there was a big problem: my mom’s oven apparently does not get hot enough! My first batch just didn’t look like they were cooking, until…. they were overdone. Hard hockey pucks. WTF. Once I turned the oven up to 400 (the cookies bake at 350), I had no more problems.

This morning I baked 2 more batches to replace the hockey pucks, and threw them out. Look how delicious they turned out:

Ok, wait. We need a close up. Food p0rn:

I packaged them up all pretty! 14 half dozens in Christmasy bakery bags, and another baker’s dozen to share at the party.

There was a lovely spread of cookie + party appetizers to partake in:

And a whole TABLE of packaged goodies! I got one or two of each of the varieties:

And now I am left with a tummy full of sugar and butter! I will be taking many plates of cookies to share at my nursing homes this week. 🙂

And now, Brooke and I are going to do a kettlebell workout video to burn off a few of the cookies. Hasta!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kilax
    Dec 21, 2009 @ 04:39:01

    I have never done a cookie exchange but they sound so fun!

    Reply

  2. Frippy
    Dec 21, 2009 @ 07:38:13

    Hey Holly these cookies look divine. How do you soften your butter?

    Reply

  3. Carrie
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 14:13:12

    That was so much fun! I’ve never heard of those cookies before. What’s in them?

    Reply

  4. Carrie
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 14:14:12

    Um, nevermind:) The link worked when I clicked ON it instead of BESIDE it. Yum!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

