Gotta love Mom’s cooking

Friday I started off with a nice little treat:

You may have noticed I haven’t been going to Starbucks as much, so this was a treat! It’s an apple bran muffin and a nonfat white peppermint mocha.

Lunch was cooked by the mother of the administrator of my Friday nursing home. It’s a Filipino dish called “Adobo.” It’s pork meat, a hard boiled egg, and white rice. I didn’t pick out any potatoes, but those were in the Adobo as well.

I than had too many chocolate covered cookies in the afternoon. Stress eating at its worst. 😦

At my mom’s house, she made a lovely dinner. It’s a dish called Brandied Chicken, which does involve heavy cream and a lot of butter. Served with rice pilaf and broccoli.

It was delicious, but the fat-heavy meal was not the best choice for my pre-run meal. My digestive system was not too happy with me.

Saturday I had a Clif bar before my run:

During the run, there was one pack of clif shots, one Gu packet, and a few handfuls of jelly bellies at some of the aid stations. Afterwards, there was the bowl of chili you saw.

Then I did my typical gathering thing where I get so excited to hang out with all my friends and don’t photograph things! We had chips/salsa, bread with cheese fondue, lettuce wraps with mushroom/water chestnut filling and turkey meat filling, smoked sausage, brie cheese, dippers and chocolate fondue, and mini ice cream sandwiches with Nilla wafers. Indulgent night! I’ll pretend the 22 miler evened it out, though it totally didn’t.

Any tips on how to remember to bust my camera out at gatherings and photograph the food?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly from Bridges and Bites
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 07:20:57

    I forget to take pictures of my food all the time! I think it just becomes a habit after awhile. Thankfully I have a camera phone so when I forget my real camera, sometimes I can at least get some sort of a picture from my phone.

    Reply

  2. Katharine
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 13:20:59

    Take pictures of your friends having a good time! Then, since your camera is already out, maybe you’ll remember to capture the food. Or at least some of it will make it into pictures of people 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

