Missing weekend

Well, it looks like until I get a laptop, weekends will be a black hole in this here journal! I’ll plan on catching up on Sunday nights!

So here’s Friday:

Delicious Banana Nutella wrap!


Inside.

They ran out of nursing home food, so I walked to Jamba Juice for lunch. I got a wrap:


Once at my mom’s house, I made a delicious carb filled pre-run dinner:

Blurry pasta, chicken, and broccoli with olive oil & parm.

Saturday – 12 mile run! I arose early and ate some granola:

And a peanut butter cookie my mom had baked:

The run went pretty well, I did 4 miles on my own and then 8 more miles with one of the SacFit groups. Funny that 12 miles was a “shorter” run. Aaaah, marathon training. I have to be honest, I think the half marathon distance is more my style. But this is my shot to do the full marathon, just this once. And do it I will. So, after that 12 miles,I had two cups of chocolate milk and a small piece of poppyseed cake at an after-party. I didn’t have much of an appetite for all the other stuff they had.

When I got home, I FINALLY got to go to the post office to pick up my Glo Bars!! I ordered them from Angela the morning she opened up US shipping, and I had them sent to my mom’s house because of my move. Well, little did I know they’d require a signature… and my mom works 8-5 every day. They got attempted to be delivered twice and then went to hold at the post office, which she couldn’t get to during business hours either! I finally had a chance to get them. I immediately dug into a Renew bar, which she developed for after-run recovery:

Look at this deliciousness:

It did not disappoint! Expect to see lots of GloBars in upcoming posts!

I also had a good post-run meal (my hunger had returned):

And THEN… a 4 hour nap. Aaaaaaah.

Dinner was quick and easy, prepared in the microwave:


It’s just a can of clam chowder, with an extra can of clams added to it. Plus some sourdough to dip in it.

I finished off the night later with some hot chocolate and possibly another cookie or two. 😉

Sunday – now here’s where the black hole REALLY took hold. I kept forgetting to photograph things! Ack.

I got breakfast:

Coffee and instant oatmeal

But when I went out for lunch with my friend Sammi, who totally would have thought it was awesome I was photographing my food, I forgot! Boooo. We ate at Mimi’s Cafe, and we split an Asian appetizer, and then I got a chicken sandwich from the Light & Fit menu. It came with fruit.

We ran some errands, I came home and helped my mom around the house, and then I was suddenly starving again! I had my leftover pasta toppings (sans pasta) but threw in some olives and some vinaigrette:

And in the car, I busted out another Glo Bar:

Now here is where the real tragedy occured. See, Sunday nights are going to be “my” nights to cook dinner for Brooke and Robert. Tonight I made an awesome lettuce cups and cold noodle salad dinner from scratch, we all ate it, and then I realized I DIDN’T TAKE ANY PHOTOS!! What??? It was even a Cooking Light recipe! And I cooked from scratch! Complete food blogger FAIL.

Oh well, I’m still learning. Right?

——-

Tomorrow I get to hang with the big girls though, as I’m going to a blogger dinner with Kath and a few of her other San Francisco area readers. I am very excited! And I will get to see how food blogging is DONE. Heh.

Expect to see that post Tuesday night, as I will be staying in the city Monday night and heading straight to work on Tuesday morning. Signing off until then….

~ Holly

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. That Girl
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 23:23:53

    Very cool idea!! I love the picture food diary. I like the chicken broccoli pasta.. i think i might try making that.. Yummy.

    Reply

  2. jenn
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 23:33:28

    i LOVE that wrap from jamba! so yum!

    Reply

  3. Lynn @ The Actors Diet
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 23:48:00

    i’ve gotta order some glo bars…they sounds so great!

    Reply

  4. thebalancebroad
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 06:53:43

    I’m SO jealous you got some Glo Bars!! I can’t wait to hear what you think of the other flavors.

    It IS crazy when 12 miles becomes a “short” run, right?! I feel like when I did a full, then went back and did a half, it just completely changed my thinking. Not in a bad way, necessarily, but my “long” runs didn’t feel long…ya know? When is your marathon?

    Reply

  5. Holly
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 10:00:12

    banana nutella wrap, that awesome microwave and your name is holly too? let’s be friends 🙂

    Reply

  6. Carrie
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 11:08:13

    I think your food blogging is going great. I really enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

