Carrots and peanut butter?

Well, you know I couldn’t resist the Nutella for breakfast:

There it is on an English muffin with a banana mushed on top. I also ate the rest of the banana.

I packed my lunch from work, and it was a very Meghann inspired creation:

That’s peanut butter, carrots, and dried cranberries on a Flat Out Wrap.

All wrapped up:

It was actually really good! I need to get some almond butter and try it with that, true Meghann-style.

I also had a Trio bar with it, which I threw in my bag and forgot to photograph.

For a snack, I had a bunch of carrots and hummus:

Then I went out to meet the Solano Stampede runners for a speed workout. They are mostly all training for the Vegas marathon, which is the same day as my California International Marathon, so their speed training worked great for me. We did mile repeats on the track. Like the Empire Runners, they are a all MUCH faster than me, but they were also very encouraging and it was great to be out there with them. I did 3 mile repeats with a couple minutes rest. They were supposed to be “marathon pace” but I don’t even know what that is! Some of them said they were doing 10k pace (basically, these were not sprints, but good effort).

My mile splits:
Mile 1: 9:30
Mile 2: 9:28
Mile 3: 9:38

I am very happy with those. Yes, that’s much faster than my marathon pace will be. That’s close to my goal half marathon pace though! And it IS my 10k pace. So I’m happy with it. Also, MAN WAS I SORE during these runs!! Crossfit was Tuesday night, so this was right at the 48 hour mark. This morning I am already feeling better and less sore than last night. I am planning on Crossfit once a week until my marathon, by the way. Then I will bump that up to twice or three times in December and take a bit of a running break. But for now, I need to only be sore HALF the week, and be recovered for my long runs on weekends!

I came home to dinner which was a mix of a bunch of leftovers my roomies left for me:

On the plate is a marinated chicken breast and half a polenta disk from Wednesday, and a manacotti noodle they’d made on Thursday:

And I added a side salad with low-fat balsamic:

And after dinner, while watching Grey’s Anatomy, Brooke baked a pie. She does that. I could not resist hot out of the oven berries:

And there was my Thursday!

If you’re a fan of beautiful beaded jewelry and delicious icing on cake, you could win them at Megan’s Muchies giveaway! I love the beadwork! ā¤

Over the weekend, I'll be at my mom's house. If I can upload to her computer, you'll get a post. If not… see you Sunday night!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 09:15:59

    Wow, you’re really running fast! Still? My hero. I’m adding the hummus and carrots to my “To Try” list. Thanks! I had the greek yogurt with the crumbled up granola bar this morning. I’m such a food idea stealer:) Mwah!

    Reply

  2. thebalancebroad
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 10:13:54

    What a speedy run!! I still have yet to try carrots/PB. I do have some carrots that are lonely in my fridge…

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 13:58:32

    Are they doing the Rock n’ Roll Vegas marathon in December? My Brother is flying down and doing that one!

    Reply

    • Holly
      Nov 06, 2009 @ 19:55:28

      Yep, that’s the one! I can’t afford to travel to races like that yet. But in May I plan to fly to Chicago for a 10 mile race!

      Reply

  4. Brarlperalise
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 02:35:00

    I really enjoyed reading your post, keep on posting such exciting stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

