Deadly donut

I have to be honest, I didn’t post last night because I got myself sucked in to So You Think You Can Dance. And I stayed up past midnight watching it. So then I slept until the last possible second this morning, meaning I didn’t post then either. Ha! But it was worth it! I love performance arts. Do you watch it? Who do you like so far?

So far, I like Nathan, Russell, Mollee, and Kathryn:


A lot of people don’t like Mollee cuz she’s over the top cheery, but I think she’s adorable and who doesn’t need some sunshine? Russell is amazing, he can do EVERYTHING. And I like Nathan’s style and I think Kathryn is incredible and also really sweet and pretty. We shall see how it plays out!

So, I started the morning off right with yogurt, pineapples, and a crushed up granola bar:

And coffee, of course. Gotta have that.

In fact, you gotta have another one in the car:

Around 10:30, I was hungry. And there was a donut.

I don’t usually eat donuts. I can usually avoid them pretty well. You’ll see on this blog that donuts are not a “problem” food for me. Other baked goods are, but not donuts. So I indulged. And it was delicious.

However, I shouldn’t have eaten the whole thing. 1/4 or 1/3 would have been fine. (And yes, I ate the whole thing, I just snapped the cell phone photo after I ate that first bit).

About an hour later, I just felt heavy and sluggish. And the delicious donut just wasn’t as worth it anymore. But too late, it was already done.

And in fact, it totally spoiled my appetite for lunch. And, I was so proud…. I didn’t eat lunch “just because.” I waited. Which meant passing on the nursing home food.

At 2:30, I started to get a rumbling in my tummy. Around that time, I needed to drive over to a different nursing home for an hour anyways, so I left and hit up the nearby whole foods, this time getting some hot bar stuff:

There’s veggie polenta, a sesame flavored tofu chunk, cabbage/kale/brussels sprouts sauteed in olive oil, sweet potato, and some red quinoa.

That held me over for a run in the evening. I’d planned to go run with a group at Fleet Feet, and when I got there, I found out that the Wednesday night group doesn’t really meet (despite being on the website. Sigh.) So, she sent me on a run by myself, in which I got lost three times, because, well, I’m ME, and then finally ended up on the street she wanted me to START on at the end, when I couldn’t find the store again. LOL. Can’t take me anywhere. But I ended up covering about 3 slow miles and got to explore some of Vacaville! Heh. But 3 slow miles are better than nothing!

And then, my night got even more random. The owner of Fleet Feet told me that the running club was having a meeting that night, it’s a once a month thing. And they bought food! I went to the meeting and found out they’re the Empire Runners type group around here, the Solono Stampede. They’re smaller than Empire Runners, but they’re heading in that direction. Of course I joined and am jumping right in (went to their speed workout tonight even)! At the meeting, I ate some salad, breadsticks, and pizza there but decided not to freak out my new friends by photographing my food. So you’ll just have to imagine. 😉

Good night! See ya in the morning!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 08:42:58

    I totally know how you feel about donuts. They’re not a problem food for me, either, but sometimes I indulge and then I’m so mad at myself. I hate how they make me feel.

    In running news, I’m so glad you found a new “speed work” group!

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 09:19:50

    That was interesting. I’m going to really start paying attention to how foods make me feel. It sounds like you learned a lot and met some new people. Yay! You are turning into such a Brave Holly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

