Nursing home food galore!

I promised nursing home food, and today, you’re gonna get it. Oh yeah.

But first — what do you think I had for breakfast? If you said “Greek Yogurt, duh”, you’d be right! I tried the pomegranate:

And then I mixed in a granola bar, of course:

I liked the pomegranate flavor, but didn’t LOVE love it. I’m ready to try the other flavors!

My breakfast didn’t keep me full for very long, crazily enough. So when there were some leftover breakfast items still keeping warm at work, I went for it:

This french toast was AMAZING. Oh my god. I had to tell the cook how much I loved it. Several times. Wow.

Moving on….

For lunch today, I had to do a tray evaluation. What I did was pretend I was in a room up near the front desk and wrote up a menu strip for myself. Then the kitchen had to prepare the tray as if I were a resident and deliver it to me. I took temperatures and evaluated other things on the tray. Check it out:

So there’s my tray. You may notice my diet slip says “dislikes: bread, milk”… and there’s milk on my tray! Strike one! They got the “NAS (no added salt) part right though. See that there’s pepper but no salt. 🙂

Let’s see what is under the cover….

Ta da! We have turkey, mashed potatoes, and broccoli. I ordered small portions, so notice that the scoop of potatoes is pretty little. That’s good!

How did it score? Here’s my sheet:

So, the vegetables and the jello had come out of the temperature zone. And the milk was a mistake. But otherwise, it was pretty darn good! I enjoyed my meal. 🙂

And thus ends your little peak at part of my dietitian job! Exciting stuff, huh?

So, will breakfast #2 and then this lunch, I didn’t need an afternoon snack. Or so I thought. I should have had one, because I went to the mall after work to run an errand (getting my ring checked out to keep it’s warranty) and my stomach started GROWLING. And I wasn’t going home for hours… so mall dinner it was. =/

I decided I could indulge but also get some healthy items. I headed over to Panda Express… I know, DANGER, right? And I do love me some orange chicken. Lucky for me, my second favorite dish is the tofu eggplant, and aside from sodium content, not a bad choice! I got it served over the mixed veggies in a bowl, which was awesome and better than the 2 entrees and one side option. Here it is:

I swear there are veggies under there:

It was delish, and I felt pretty good about my mall choice! And I even got a fortune:

Uh oh… who could that be? 😉

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 21:54:43

    uh oh… who COULD that be?

    PS I love the pic of you taking the temp of the mashed potatos for some reason.

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 06:22:27

    I loved that entry! What fun. You are rocking it as a RD! And hmmm…..I wonder who the fortune means?

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 06:39:04

    Pictures are so pretty. I did not realize food was so colorful. I guess that would be the veggies haha

    Reply

  4. Kristy
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 12:22:12

    Okay…….. Silly questions. 1) Do you live in a Nursing Home, or work in one? 2) Nursing home food always sucks. I am scared of being in one someday when I get old.

    Reply

    • Holly
      Jul 01, 2010 @ 16:54:47

      I work in several of them, I’m a dietitian. I get to eat the food for lunch (and breakfast if I get there early enough). Sometimes it is really good!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

