Pumpkin Mac & Cheese

Today was another tough day. I suppose every day is a struggle. A rollercoaster. Whatever.

I started the morning off talking about divorce stuff with our roommate, who had just returned from a trip to Mexico. (The short version: David and I rented out a room to try to help our financial situation, our roommate is from Mexico, he’s a very cool guy who has been incredibly understanding about the current situation). Anyways, I like chatting with him, and a lot of the time it helps to have someone to talk to who has been there (which he has), but this morning, it just made me feel worse all over again.

That carried over into work today, where I was a bit distracted and such. I did my best and worked a 9 hour day to compensate. I still have a lot left for Thursday, but I think I can manage.

This morning when I was in a bummy mood and out of time to boot, I figured a trip to Starbucks was in order. I got a standard coffee with room (added half & half and vanilla sprinkles), and a reduced fat turkey bacon egg sandwich.

Lunch was served at yet another meeting! So, while this is nursing home food, it was not what the patients were actually served today. HA! I snapped a sneaky cell phone photo when the big wigs weren’t looking.

Ravioli, mixed veggies, garlic bread, and a chocolate tapioca dessert.

And then dinner. Dinner was inspired! A blogger friend posted a recipe for Pumpkin Mac & Cheese, and I jumped at the chance to make something new and interesting with the canned pumpkin I’ve been loving lately.

The finished casserole:

I served it with some okra.

It turned out very good. Not very cheesy, like Mac & Cheese usually is, but a good pumpkiny flavor.

I didn’t eat any snacks today! Very odd. Lunch was very filling, which was most of the reason.

I also didn’t go running today, because my legs were still screaming in pain. I can run on sore legs, but not painful ones. I soaked in an Epsom Salt bath and it helped a LOT. Tonight there will be stretching and foam rollering. OUCH. But I should be able to run tomorrow night.

Tomorrow is another day.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 04:47:57

    Could you share the recipe for the pumpkin mac and cheese? It sounds delicious!

    Reply

    • Holly
      Oct 21, 2009 @ 08:34:22

      Sure, here ya go!
      8 oz dry elbow or any other small pasta (half a box, give or take), cooked al dente
      2 cups pumpkin
      1/2 cup each of mozzarella, cheddar and Parmesan
      1/2 cup milk
      Cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and whatever spices suit your fancy… Read More
      1 and 1/2 tsp butter, melted
      1/3 cup breadcrumbs
      2 tsps Parmesan

      Over medium heat, mix pumpkin and milk together until thoroughly blended, then add the 1/2 cups of cheeses and stir until the cheeses have thoroughly melted in with the pumpkin (about 15 minutes). Spice the mixture as desired.

      Mix the pumpkin with the pasta in a baking dish

      Mix the melted butter, breadcrumbs and Parmesan (mixture should be mostly dry), and put over top of the pumpkin/pasta mix. Bake for about 20-30 minutes, until breadcrumbs are browned and crunchy.

      Makes about 6 servings, and my recipe calculator, assuming 2% cheddar, regular parm and part skim mozzarella, says it’s about 310 calories and 10 grams of fat per serving.

      Reply

    • Holly
      Oct 22, 2009 @ 06:52:40

      350 is what I did, cuz I didn’t know! Turned out fine. I got the recipe from a friend, not from a website or anything.

      Reply

  2. Carrie
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 06:29:58

    Yum! That looks so delicious! I am loving this website. I hope that every day gets a little easier, and that you legs are feeling better today:)

    Reply

  3. thebalancebroad
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 11:09:27

    Mmmm – pumpkin mac n’cheese? Once again, goes to show ANYthing + pumpkin = amazing.

    Sorry about your rough day. While I can’t specifically relate, I know I’ve been hurt before and the one tried and true thing that helps me heal? Time. I wish it were easier than that, but it’s very true…..here’s hoping for a much better day today. 🙂

    Reply

  4. kilax
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 16:04:13

    You’re right, tomorrow is another day. It will get better! (especially when you move out!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

