Nursing home food is eluding me!

Once again, the nursing home food for lunch ended up not happening! I know you must all be dying to see what food I get to eat at work (lol) but it will have to wait until next week!

But I’m getting ahead of myself. First there was breakfast:

I mixed a spoonful of pumpkin into plain greek yogurt today! I also crumbled up a crunchy granola bar. And I didn’t forget the cinnamon. Delish!

I had to eat pretty early because of my hour and 15 minute commute, so it was no surprise to me that my tummy started growling much before lunch. I snagged this from the kitchen:

See, hard at work, with my calculator and all!

Then lunchtime! I ended up sitting in on a meeting for 2 hours (and it went much longer than that, but I stepped out to continue my work). And lo and behold, they ordered in KFC. Nice. :/ Luckily, there was also some cut up watermelon to accompany my KFC meal.

I chose one drumstick, one biscuit with honey, a small bit of cole slaw, and watermelon. Check out my charting forms in the background! I still get a kick out of my work. Don’t worry, it will fade.

I thought my lunch choices were pretty decent, with what I had to work with! Possibly even on the light side, because my tummy was a-growlin’ again at 2 pm! Well, maybe that was because we ate the KFC at around 11:45. Anywho.

The kitchen manager was nice enough to give me a bar. Not a bar I would have chosen on my own, but I knew I had a hard workout coming up and extra protein isn’t a bad thing. However, it wasn’t the tastiest bar:

Also, I had to take this photo on my cell phone because my camera was in the meeting room! I had escaped, but they were all still in there, sucking up time.

And then I went to Crossfit. This was my second introductory session, so first I got taught a few new moves: deadlifts, sumo lifts, and cleans. Just practiced them with a wooden dowel and then an empty weights bar. Then we also learned wall balls, back extensions, and different situps on the back extension machine.

Then it was time for my main workout. I had to do this three times for time:
– Run 1/4 mile (about, it’s not exact)
– 30 wall balls

The wall balls were tougher than I expected! I couldn’t do them all in a row. Here’s a wall ball (very short video):

You have to squat all the way down so your butt hits the ball on the floor, then throw the other ball up to the line as you stand up. Oh, and it weighs 14 lbs. Good times.

It took me 20:46 to do those three reps. He wanted me to get it under 20, but I was reaching the puke threshold so I took a pause. =/ All it makes me want to do is get better though! And I am going to be sooooooore tomorrow. Anyways. We finished up at about 6:15 and I drove home, which took about an hour and a half. I walked in at 7:45, and my stomach had been growling for 30 minutes. Not a good plan. I’m still getting used to this new job and my schedule!

So I dumped my stuff, threw a frozen pizza in the oven, and then settled in while it cooked. Someone else settled in too:

Allow me to introduce you to Jasmine. She’s 10 years old and has quite the personality. She’s a talker! I’ll get her on video one of these days. Anyways, she spotted the fact that my all black pea coat landed on the floor instead of the coat rack, and saw her opportunity! White fur ATTACK. Lucky she’s so cute. 😉

Dinner was ready in 14 minutes, and I whipped up a simple spinach salad on the side during the last few minutes. My plate:

Half an Amy’s spinach pizza, and spinach salad with cucumbers, dried cranberries, black beans, and raspberry vinaigrette.

And now, both the soon-to-be-ex and the roommate are not home, so I am going to enjoy having the house to myself with a double feature of Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice. I’ve got a 16 miler in the morning, all by myself! Eeep!

Good night!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Twitter Trackbacks for Nursing home food is eluding me! « Healthy Living Holly [healthylivingholly.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  2. Selina
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 22:30:25

    Hi Holly! It looks like you had an awesome workout! You go, girl! Have a great run tomorrow, 16 miles have nothing on ya! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Andrea
    Oct 17, 2009 @ 10:09:23

    Wall balls are tough! I feel you sister. So, 3 rounds of running 400 meters and then doing 30 wall balls? Gotcha.

    What was your 400 meter time? Were they timing you?

    I’m craving pumpkin lately, and I’m normally not a fan. Gotta find something here that has it in there…hahaha

    Reply

    • Holly
      Oct 17, 2009 @ 10:17:58

      Well, it’s “around the parking lot” and I’m just guessing it’s around 1/4 mile cuz when I jogged my warm up it was about 2:30 on my polar, and that’s about right for me jogging easy while fresh. I’m curious, I might take my Garmin next week and measure it during warm up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

