First pumpkin sighting!

Like so many of you in the blogosphere, I am a big fan of pumpkin. I promise you, I was at Starbucks getting that pumpkin latte on the first day! However, I’ve never really experimented with it in the kitchen. So yesterday, I bought canned pumpkin and I put it in my oatmeal:


1/2 cup oats with scoop of PB, pumpkin, and dried cranberries. And coffee with creamer.


All mixed up! It was good, but I should have put cinnamon in it. Next time.

At work someone split a poppyseed bagel with me and I ate it out at the nurse’s station, no photo, sorry. 😦

So then, lunch. So here’s the thing. I work in nursing homes, and part of my job as the RD is to taste test the food. I don’t object, I mean, free food! Someone cooking for me! I don’t have to pack a lunch! It’s not always great tasting, but it’s usually pretty good. I do like that I have a vegetable serving at every lunch, for sure!

Today’s menu was meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and spinach. And ice cream and bread, I think. Well… they ran out of meatloaf! Oops. I had to write that up, actually – one whole hallway didn’t get it, they got grilled cheese instead. It was an ordering problem.

Luckily, it’s a kitchen with a bunch of options available at most times. So I toasted two slices of whole wheat bread and slapped some of the already-made tuna on it. With a side of the spinach from the lunch:

I worked hard through the afternoon and didn’t grab a snack. Then I went to meet a friend for dinner and for her to bring me the divorce papers to fill out (gulp). Approaching a Mexican restaurant while starving AND under emotional stress:


Chips and salsa, and a strawberry margarita!

And well, the margarita and the paperwork and the chatting must have gotten to my head, because I totally spaced photographing dinner. *new food blogger alert* What a dork I am. My friend wouldn’t have minded a photo!

I ordered a baked whitefish. It came on the side of pinto beans, Spanish rice, and corn tortillas. I ate one tortilla with some fish and beans inside, and then I finished the fish and beans. I don’t like Spanish rice so I didn’t touch that.

I think dinner was a good choice and I definitely got my protein! But I am sad at the lack of veggies. However, I am stuffed. I blame the chips. 😉

And there you have my Thursday. Tomorrow I hope I’ll have some good nursing home food to show you! And a Crossfit workout to report about. See ya tomorrow!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Holly
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 16:49:41

    I have some pumpkin in my fridge…I think it’s high time I have pumpkin oats, too!

    I can’t wait to hear about Crossfit. I’ve been reading about it everywhere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

