What about the food?

Guess what? I ran again tonight! This time I went with the trusty Fleet Feet fun run. Again my buddy Drue showed up, and we ran together again. We’re a perfect pair, and we did 3.8 miles in 37:53, which we were pretty stoked about. I feel awesome after two great midweek runs in a row. Tomorrow will be a rest day. 🙂

But Holly, this is a Healthy Living Blog. Enough about the running — it should include food!!

Well, I have to warn you, I might not be the BEST food blogger right off the bat. Not only is it a hard habit to get in to, but I’ve got a few things going on:

1. I am just not comfortable in my current living situation. Period. I’ve got the soon-to-be-ex husband making a disaster of the kitchen, and a male roommate who is only slightly better. It’s cramped, it’s messy, and I just don’t like it in there.

2. I’m moving in 18 days (yay!) so while that will rectify item #1, for now grocery shopping will be pretty light. I don’t want to have to move much food. Also, I’m going to start packing up kitchen items so expect to see things like frozen pizzas and Amy’s burritos cropping up.

3. I’m not much of a cook. I really hope this blog works on that and causes me to experiment a little! But to be honest, I haven’t really found the joy in it. What I’ve mostly found is that I don’t like how much time it takes. But I plan to use my favorite food blogger’s tips to make quick meals that are still real, healthy food.

4. My prized laptop kicked the bucket two weeks ago. I am currently using a desktop computer that the soon-to-be ex will be taking with him. The desktop he is letting ME keep is going to hopefully get wiped clean this weekend. This means I will have no way to upload photos this weekend, and we’ll see how it goes next week.

Now, with that all out of the way, I have a surprise for you – I took photos today! ::bows::

I slept in late. Well, see, I “got” the couch last night. And I did not sleep very well. As I didn’t have pressing morning plans, as soon as the soon-to-be ex got up at 6 am to get ready for work, I reclaimed the bed. I slept till a little after 9. Hence, I had a very small breakfast at about 10 am, because I didn’t want to spoil lunch.

Plain Oikos greek yogurt with a sample size box of Honey Nut Cheerios mixed in (I love signing up for free samples!)

After that, I grocery shopped, and I used a coupon at the in-store Starbucks to get a free tall brewed coffee and put half & half and sugar in it. I may have also had a lemon loaf sample from the counter in one of those little cups.

I came home with my groceries and made lunch:

Salami, pepperjack (it’s under there), and spinach on a whole wheat English muffin. There’s also Dijon mustard spread on the bread. With two pickle slices.

I coached Girls on the Run this afternoon, so no afternoon snack squeezed in there. I was still fine for my 3.8 mile run. But I came home hungry! I whipped up a really quick dinner:

I cooked frozen okra in a pan, and then mixed in Classico brand marinara sauce. Meanwhile, I boiled some preprepared gnocchi and sliced up some veggies to top my spinach salad. Voila, a 10 minute dinner!

Yummy close up on the gnocchi and okra combo. Loved it!

I did have dessert. Look familiar?

I *may* have a greek yogurt problem. This one is honey on the bottom and I mixed walnuts in to it. Much more dessert-y than the breakfast version!

I had it with sleepytime tea:

And let me tell you, it’s only 9 pm and that tea is doing it’s job. I’m sleepy. I think I need to pack a few boxes so I feel like I accomplished something, but then it’s beddy-bye time. Night!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 08:51:08

    I never would have thought to put okra in spaghetti sauce! Good idea!

    Reply

    • Holly
      Oct 15, 2009 @ 09:39:09

      I am on a total okra kick lately! I think KathEats and GraduateMeghann rubbed off on me! I’ve made it fresh when I can get it (not so common in CA) and love this frozen bag of it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Kathleen
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 21:17:43

    I am so not a fan of okra. I’ve tried it several times (cooked for me in Egypt and cooking it for myself in Barbados) and I just can’t get past the slimy texture. I want to like it…but I just can’t.

    Reply

  3. Carrie
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 12:19:51

    I loved this! I can’t believe you found the time to take pictures. Love you, Holly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

