Total Thyroidectomy

Well, folks, obviously I wasn’t a good blogger and keeping up on here. Last I posted, I had just been told by my doctor that my thyroid should come out. But first, I had some tests. 

- The lab tests revealed that my TSH and T3 were out of range, but absolutely nothing else. No high cholesterol, no diabetes, nothing! Yay! My doctor increased my synthroid dose.

- Then it was time for a thyroid ultrasound. That showed that the growths were big, heterogeneous, and potentially suspicious. It was time to meet with a surgeon. 

- The surgeon read my ultrasound and met with me. He said his plan was to take the whole thing out, because if he left any thyroid tissue, it would get another growth on it. Plus, who knows how well the little thyroid that would be left was working anyways. I was in agreement. 

- Surgery date was August 22nd. All went well – I went to sleep, woke up goofy, and didn’t feel a thing. I had a nice big bandage on my neck. 

Image

- I was able to bring home a photo of the removed thyroid! If you like to see graphic photos of internal photos, you’ll love this. The growth is insane. If you don’t like stuff like that, DO NOT click this link. 

 http://s754.photobucket.com/user/healthylivingholly/media/thyoidremoved.jpg.html

- Stayed the night in the hotel, came home and spent a few days alternating between the bed and the couch. With a lot of DVR time logged. The big bandage went down to just some tape, and I got to shower!

Image

- And now it’s one week later. Visited the surgeon today and the tape was removed. The stitches are the dissolving kind, so nothing even needed to be removed. The scar is longer than I anticipated, but it will fade and blend right into my neck creases. 

Image

 

- And see that last little part of the photo? Its from my pathology report. Turns out, I had cancer. A small, completely encapsulated, section of cancerous cells. But the lymph node is completely clear. So, I had cancer. But I am now cancer free, without knowing I had it in the first place. 

Thank you, Dr. B.

It’s time to get back to Healthy Living Holly. 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ingunn
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 00:20:30

    Why oh why must I always click the “don’t click this” links? ;^)

    So how will not having a thyroid affect your body and hormones?

    Reply

    • Holly
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 06:57:16

      My body will now not produce any thyroid hormones, which means I will have no metabolism to speak of. Right now my doctor has me taking two medications each morning, Synthroid (TSH) and Cytomel (T3). There are different options out there so with blood tests and trial and error we’ll see what works best for me.

      Reply

  2. TT&NB
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 06:40:22

    Glad to see you are healing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers

