Hasta La Vista, Thyroid Gland

I saw the doctor last night. And I got some news I have to admit I wasn’t terribly surprised at: 

My thyroid needs to come out. 

The doctor says “the time has come” and that it is “too far gone” for anything else to be done. For reference, here are photos taken 2 days ago of my neck. It’s actually hard to capture it on film, but I think that even in these photos you can see that something is not right. 

Image

 

So, the first step is a bunch of blood work. I got the FULL workup done this morning on a fasting stomach. CMP and CBC (that’s got everything from glucose/sodium/potassium to blood platelets and stuff), TSH, T3 and T4 (thyroid labs – and good because a lot of Drs only test TSH), Lipid panel (let’s see if I’ve got high cholesterol too, yippee), AND HgbA1c — that’s the marker for diabetes. GULP. I’ve never had high blood sugars before but… please no. Please, please no.

He also had me sign a release so he could get my previous medical records from the time I was originally diagnosed and had a thyroid biopsy (2007). I see him again next Tuesday to go over the lab results and his game plan and predictions for when surgery will take place. 

Until then, keep up my healthy eating and exercise, keep taking my current dose of Synthroid (even though it’s not enough, obviously!), and he’s going to switch me off of an SSRI for my mood issues and have me try Cymbalta, which should not have a weight gain side effect like the Prozac I have been taking has. 

Looks like there are going to be a lot of changes coming up in my health. It might get bumpy, but I think eventually I’ll be in a better place than I am now. Thank goodness. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Darcy Bull
    Jul 10, 2013 @ 12:16:01

    Looking forward to supporting your journey. I know you will come out of this a winner! You are such a fighter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

