I make no promises on this blog.

So here’s the thing.

I pretty much suck as a healthy living blogger.

Now, I’ve been a blogger for over 10 years. And I’m healthy, more or less. We’ll disregard this summer of too much beer and forget that chips, salsa, and broccoli comprised my dinner last night. (Picture of an RD, huh?) My bloodwork, resting heart rate, and marathon completion beg to differ. I’m healthy. Just not in the typical healthy blogger kind of way.

So what’s the problem?

1. I have no desire to make blogging my job. I do not want to blog three times a day. Or even daily. I don’t want to feel like I have to write. I don’t want to take pictures of my meals or think up exciting recipes. I don’t want to run an Open Sky store. I just don’t. Now, I get twinges of jealousy when I see what fun and awesome things that successful healthy living bloggers are getting and doing because of their blogs…but they put in the work for it. They’ve earned it.

2. I read a great post today on one of my most favorite blogs about having your own voice. (And man, does she. I like to quote her. With credit, of course.) My own voice isn’t polished and pretty and ready for public consumption. I have been blogging behind a lock and key at livejournal for over 10 years. My style there is to tell everything about myself. To record my feelings and get reactions and mistakes in life. And even as more and more people are pulling away and trying to make it big with their blogs, that’s my safe haven. I post there daily, multiple times a day. On no set schedule. Sometimes with just a text or a picture.

3. I’m not “a writer.” I’m really not. I have no desire for a book deal. I blog because it’s real, not to impress.

But yet, looking at the above couple items, I realize that I did really enjoy writing about my running. I probably identified more with the “Holly on the Run” moniker than “Healthy Living Holly.” And I’m starting to be able to run, little by little.

So what am I saying? Not really anything. I’m staying here, I’ll post randomly about running a good food and races when they start happening. But don’t ever expect it to be consistent or on a schedule. And don’t expect me to try to make it big with this thing.

Cuz really, I just suck as a healthy living blogger. Sorry I’m not sorry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers